This is an automatically generated PDF version of the online resource retrieved on 2023/12/10 at 18:29
Global Media Registry (GMR) & Data leads - all rights reserved, published under Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
Data leads logo
Global Media Registry

The Wire

The Wire is a news website founded in the year 2015 by three journalists, Siddharth Varadarajan, Sidharth Bhatia and Mangalam Kesavan Venu. The Wire is published under a not-for-profit organization called the Foundation for Independent Journalism (FIJ). Initially the Foundation was funded by the Independent and Public-Spirited Media Foundation. The website has its presence on social media platforms such as Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube. The website publishes its content in three different languages, English, Hindi and Urdu.

Key facts

Audience Share

Missing Data

Ownership Type


Geographic Coverage


Content Type


Data Publicly Available

ownership data is easily available from other sources, e. g. public registries etc.

2 ♥

Media Companies / Groups

The Foundation for Independent Journalism


Ownership Structure

The Wire is owned by the Foundation of Independent Journalism. The Foundation of Independent Journalism is a not for profit organization and its shares are equally divided among the founding editors Siddharth Varadarajan (33.3%), Sidharth Bhatia (33.3%) and Mangalam Kesavan Venu (33.3%).

Voting Rights

Missing Data

Individual Owner

Media Companies / Groups

General Information

Founding Year


Affiliated Interests Founder

Siddharth Varadarajan

is one of the Founding Editors of The Wire, the digital news platform. Starting his career as a Professor at the New York University, he went on to become the first editor of the newspaper, outside of the owner’s family – of The Hindu. He left The Hindu in the year 2014 and founded The Wire, along with Sidharth Bhatia and Mangalam Kesavan Venu in the year 2015. Mr. Varadarajan was awarded with the Elizabeth Neuffer Memorial Prize Silver Medal for Print Journalism, in 2005. Varadarajan is also the recipient of Bernardo O’Higgins Order award by the President of Chile, the highest civilian honour for foreign citizen, in 2006 and in 2010 he received the Ramnath Goenka Award for the Journalist of the Year. Siddarth Varadarajan is a Member of Indian Council of World Affairs, a Board Member of Inter-Govermental B. P. Koirala India-Nepal Foundation, Member of International Founding Committee of The Real News. Varadarajan has studied Economics from the London School of Economics and Columbia University.

Affiliated Interests Ceo

Missing Data

Affiliated Interests Editor-In-Chief

Missing Data


The Wire, F44-45, Bhagat Singh Market,

Shaheed Bhagat Singh Marg,

Gole Market, New Khanna Market,

New Delhi, Delhi 110001


Financial Information

Revenue (in Mill. $)

Missing Data

Operating Profit (in Mill. $)

Missing Data

Advertising (in % of total funding)

Missing Data

Market Share

Missing Data

  • Project by
    Logo of Data leads
    Global Media Registry
  • Funded by